Luke Muehlhauser to speak at Quixey Tuesday, Aug. 20th

This coming Tuesday, MIRI’s Executive Director Luke Muehlhauser will give a talk at Quixey titled Effective Altruism and the End of the World. If you’re in or near the…

Nasa Uses Sanskrit To Program Artificial Intelligence

The extraordinary thing about Sanskrit is that it offers direct accessibility to anyone to that elevated plane where the two — mathematics and music, brain and heart, analytical…

Four New Tools for Brain Workouts

Just as football players lift weights, knowledge workers need to train their core systems to perform. 1. Quantified Mind is a really good way to measure and improve…

Nick Beckstead To Deliver Online Lecture On Ethics of Far Future 15 August | Global Catastrophic Risk Institute

On the Overwhelming Importance of Shaping the Far Future Thursday 15 August, 16:00 GMT (9:00 Los Angeles, 12:00 New York, 17:00 London) To be held online via Skype….

The Rise of Artificial Intelligence

The new PBSOffBook video takes us on a tour of the rise of artificial intelligence. Robin Hanson and Gary Marcus summarizing the intertwined promise and peril of the inevitable…